The work of the University of Florida Lastinger Center and its partners has garnered major state and national recognition. Some of the awards include:

  • Association of Teacher Educators’ Distinguished Program in Teacher Education Award (2011). The association named the graduate component of the Master Teacher Initiative the country’s best teacher development program. A joint effort of the Lastinger Center and the College of Education’s School of Teaching and Learning, the program earned the award for “exemplifying collaboration between local education agencies and institutions of higher education in program development and administration.”
  • The U.S. Department of Education Investing in Innovation (i3) award (2010). In giving it this highly coveted grant, the USDOE named the Lastinger Center’s job-embedded Master Teacher Initiative one of the country’s most promising approaches for improving teacher practice. The $6 million award (including a $1 million match from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation) gives the initiative a chance to expand its scope, undergo a controlled study to evaluate its impact and scale the model for national distribution. To read more about it, please click here.
  • Florida Association of Staff Development’s Outstanding Professional Development Practices Award (2011, 2004). In 2011, the association recognized the Lastinger Center’s work with Pinellas County Schools as the state’s best professional development partnership. In 2004, it honored the center’s statewide work.
  • Florida Education Foundation’s 19th Annual Commissioner’s Business Recognition Award (2006). The foundation honored the Lastinger Center for its “innovative partnerships and exemplary support of public education.”
  • Nate Gage Award for Best Paper in an International Journal (2010). Three Lastinger Center scholars won Teaching and Teachers Education’s award for the best paper in an international research journal. Professor-in-Residence Vickie Vescio, Prof. Dorene Ross and Lastinger Chief Learning Officer Alyson Adams wrote “A review of research on professional learning communities: What do we know?” It remains one of the top 10 most downloaded research papers on the journal’s website.

Lastinger Center affiliated faculty member Nancy Dana has won numerous awards, including:

  • New York State Teacher Impact Award (2009).
  • National Staff Development Council Book of the Year (2008). Dana won this award for The Reflective Educator’s Guide to Professional Development: Coaching Inquiry-Oriented Learning Communities.

A couple of the participants in our Master Teacher Initiative have received statewide recognition:

  • Florida Teacher of the Year finalist (2011). Tracy Staley, Pinellas County’s 2011 Outstanding Educator.
  • Florida Reading Coach of the Year (2008-09). Kathy Christensen.

Over the years, Lastinger Center staff, affiliated faculty, partners and fellows have won several University of Florida College of Education Scholarship of Engagement Awards, including:

  • School of Teaching and Learning Faculty Award (2010). Tim Jacobbe.
  • School District Award (2010). Julie Janssen (Pinellas County).
  • School of Teaching and Learning Faculty Award (2009). Rose Pringle.
  • Graduate Student Award (2009). Darby Delane.
  • Graduate Student Award (2009). Vicki Vescio.
  • School of Teaching and Learning Faculty Award (2008). Nancy Dana.
  • Community Award (2008). Mercantile Bank.
  • College Faculty Award (2007). Don Pemberton.
  • Special Education Faculty Award (2007). Holly Lane.
  • School System award (2007). Miami-Dade Public Schools.
  • Community Award (2007). W.K. Kellogg Foundation.
  • Graduate Student Award (2007). Tyran Wright.
  • Community Partner Award (2006). David Lawrence Jr., Early Childhood Initiative.
  • Principal Award (2005). Katherine Dixon (Williams Elementary).
  • Professor Award (2005). Dorene Ross.
  • Principal Award (2004). Leanetta McNealy (Duval Elementary).
  • Professor Award (2004). Elizabeth Bondy.